Joint Commission for Theological Dialogue between the Roman Catholic Church and the Orthodox Church

Fifth Plenary Meeting - Valamo 1988

List of Participants

Orthodox Members:

Ecumenical Patriarchate
Archbishop Stylianos of Australia (Co-Chair)
Metropolitan John (Zizioulas) of Pergamon

Patriarchate of Alexandria
Metropolitan Dionysios of Noubia
Prof. Stylianos Papadopoulos (not able to attend)

Patriarchate of Antioch
Metropolitan George of Mount Lebanon (not able to attend)
Prof. Oliver Clement (not able to attend)

Patriarchate of Jerusalem Metropolitan Germanos of Petra Prof. George Galitis

Patriarchate of Moscow Archbishop Cyrill of Smolensk Archpriest Vladimir Kucheriavy

Serbian Patriarchate
Bishop Sava of Šumadija (not able to attend)
Prof. Stoyan Goschevitch (Secretary – not able to attend)

Romanian Patriarchate Metropolitan Antonie of Transylvania Archpriest Dumitru Radu

Bulgarian Patriarchate
Bishop John of Dragovitsa
Archpriest Nikolai Stefanov Schivarov

Church of Cyprus
Metropolitan Chrysanthos of Morphou
Prof. Makarios Papachristophorou

Church of Greece Metropolitan Chrysostomos of Peristeri Prof. Theodore Zissis

Church of Poland Archpriest Prof. Nikolai Lenczewski Church of Georgia Bishop Zosima of Tsilkani Prof. Boris Gagua

Church of Czechoslovakia
Bishop Nikolai of Prešov (not able to attend)
Archpriest Prof. Pavel Ales

Church of Finland
Revd. Matti Sidoroff
Revd. Archimandrite Ambrosius

Executive Secretary
Bishop Spyridon of Apamea, Rome, Italy

Catholic Members:

Cardinal Jan Willebrands, President of the Secretariat for Promoting Christian Unity, Vatican (Co-Chair)

Cardinal Salvatore Pappalardo, Archbishop of Palermo, Italy (not able to attend)

Cardinal Roger Etchegaray, President of the Pontifical Commission "Justitia et Pax", Vatican

Cardinal Friedrich Wetter, Archbishop of Munich and Freising, Germany

Msgr. Nicolas Foscolos, Catholic Archbishop of Athens, Greece

Msgr. Mariano Magrassi, Archbishop of Bari, Italy

Msgr. Miroslav Stefan Marusyn, Titular-Bishop of Cadi, Vatican

Msgr. Alfred Pichler, Bishop of Banja Luka, Yugoslavia

Msgr. Alfons Nossol, Bishop of Opole, Poland

Msgr. Georges Abi-Sader, Auxiliar Bishop of the Maronite Patriarchate, Bkerké, Lebanon

Msgr. William H. Keeler, Bishop of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Msgr. Ioan Robu, Apostolic Administrator, Bucharest, Romania

Revd. Peter-Hans Kolvenbach SJ, Rome, Italy (not able to attend)

Revd. Pierre Duprey, Secretary of the Secretariat for Christian Unity, Vatican

Msgr. Michele Maccarrone, President Comité Pontifical des sciences historiques, Vatican

Revd. Jean Corbon, Beirut, Lebanon

Msgr. Frederick R. McManus, Catholic University of America, Washington, USA

Revd. Prof. Dimitri Salachas, Athens, Greece

Revd. Prof. Ernst Suttner, Theological Faculty, University of Vienna, Austria

Revd. Prof. Hermann Vogt, Tübingen, Germany

Revd. Emmanuel Lanne OSB, Monastery of Chevetogne, Belgium

Revd. Prof. Jean M. R. Tillard OP, Theological and Philosophical Faculty, Ottawa, Canada

Revd. Prof. André de Halleux OFM, Louvain, Belgium

Revd. John F. Long, Vice-Rector Pontifical Oriental Institute, Rome, Italy

Revd. Prof. Wacław Hryniewicz OMI, Lublin, Poland

Revd. Prof. Patrick van der Aalst, Nijmegen, Netherlands

Prof. Vittorio Peri, Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, Vatican

Msgr. Eleuterio F. Fortino, Secretariat for Promoting Christian Unity, Vatican (Co-Secretary)