Joint Commission for Theological Dialogue between the Roman Catholic Church and the Orthodox Church

Sixth Plenary Meeting – Freising 1990

List of Participants

Orthodox Members:

Ecumenical Patriarchate
Archbishop Stylianos of Australia (Co-Chair)
Revd. Dr. Emmanuel Clapsis, Brookline, USA

Patriarchate of Alexandria Metropolitan Dionysios of Noubia Prof. Constantine Patelos

Patriarchate of Antioch
Metropolitan George of Byblos and Botrys (not able to attend)
Prof. Olivier Clement (not able to attend)

Patriarchate of Moscow
Archbishop Ireney of Rovno and Ostrog
Archpriest Nikolay Goundiaev

Serbian Patriarchate
Bishop Sava of Šumadija (not able to attend)
Prof. Stoyan Goshevich (not able to attend)

Romanian Patriarchate Revd. Prof. Dumitru Radu Revd. Mircea Basarab

Bulgarian Patriarchate
Bishop Joan of Dragovitza (not able to attend)
Archpriest Nikolay Stefanov Shivarov (not able to attend)

Church of Georgia Metropolitan David of Sukhumi-Abkhazeti Prof. Boris Gagua

Church of Cyprus Metropolitan Chrysanthos of Morphou Prof. Makarios Papachrystoforou

Church of Greece Metropolitan Chrysostomos of Peristeri Prof. Theodoros Zissis

Church of Poland
Archpriest Nikolai Lenczewski (not able to attend)

Church of Czechoslovakia
Bishop Nicolaj of Prešov (not able to attend)
Archpriest Pavel Ales (not able to attend)

Church of Finland
Bishop Ambrosius of Joensuu (not able to attend)
Revd. Matti Sidoroff

Executive Secretary
Bishop Spyridon of Apamea

Catholic Members:

Msgr. Edward Idris Cassidy, Archbishop of Amantia, President of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity, Vatican (Co-Chair)

Cardinal Johannes Willebrands, President em. of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity, Vatican

Cardinal Salvatore Pappalardo, Archbishop of Palermo, Italy

Cardinal Roger Etchegaray, President of the Pontifical Commission "Justitia et Pax" and of the Pontifical Commission "Cor Unum", Vatican

Cardinal Friedrich Wetter, Archbishop of Munich and Freising, Germany

Msgr. Nicolas Foscolos, Catholic Archbishop of Athens, Greece

Msgr. Mariano Magrassi, Archbishop of Bari-Bitonto, Italy

Msgr. Miroslav Stefan Marusyn, Titular-Bishop of Cadi, Vatican (not able to attend)

Msgr. Alfred Pichler, Bishop em. of Banja Luka, Yugoslavia

Msgr. Ioan Robu, Archbishop of Bucharest, Romania

Msgr. Georges Abi-Sader, Auxiliar Bishop of the Maronite Patriarchate, Bkerké, Lebanon (not able to attend)

Msgr. William H. Keeler, Archbishop of Baltimore, USA

Msgr. Alfons Nossol, Bishop of Opole, Poland

Revd. Pierre Duprey, Secretary of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity, Vatican

Revd. P. Peter-Hans Kolvenbach SJ, Rome, Italy

Msgr. Michele Maccarrone, President em. Comité Pontifical des sciences historiques, Vatican

Revd. Jean Corbon, Dominican Monastery, Beirut, Lebanon

Msgr. Frederick R. McManus, Catholic University of America, Washington, USA

Revd. Prof. Dimitri Salachas, Athens, Greece

Revd. Prof. Ernst Suttner, Theological Faculty, University of Vienna, Austria

Revd. Prof. Hermann-Josef Vogt, Tübingen, Germany

Revd. Emmanuel Lanne OSB, Monastery of Chevetogne, Belgium

Revd. Prof. Jean M. R. Tillard OP, Theological and Philosophical Faculty, Ottawa, Canada

Revd. Prof. André de Halleux OFM, Louvain, Belgium

Revd. Prof. John F. Long, Pontifical Oriental Institute, Rome, Italy

Revd. Prof. Wacław Hryniewicz OMI, Lublin, Poland

Revd. Prof. Patrick van der Aalst, Nijmegen, Netherlands

Prof. Vittorio Peri, Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, Vatican

Msgr. Eleuterio F. Fortino, Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity, Vatican (Co-Secretary)